To support the free and open dissemination of research findings and information on alcoholism and alcohol-related problems. To encourage open access to peer-reviewed articles free for all to view.

For full versions of posted research articles readers are encouraged to email requests for "electronic reprints" (text file, PDF files, FAX copies) to the corresponding or lead author, who is highlighted in the posting.


Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Kaskutas honored for contributions to addiction medicine

At the 38th Annual Medical Scientific conference of the American Society of Addiction Medicine Lee Ann Kaskutas Dr. P.H. delivered the keynote plenary address and received the 2007 Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientit Award for contributions to the field of addiction medicine.

R. Brinkley Smithers Distinguished Scientist Award and Lecture was established by ASAM in 1995 as a lasting tribute to R. Brinkley Smithers who influenced American alcoholism policy, theory and treatment. Through his dedication and philanthropy he created a far greater understanding of this treatable disease.

The Award is to recognize and honor an individual who has made highly meritorious contributions in advancing the scientific understanding of alcoholism, its prevention and treatment.

The Award and Lecture is sponsored by the Christopher D. Smithers Foundation.

The Award is presented annually at ASAM’s Opening Plenary Session during its Annual Medical-Scientific Conference.

1991 Vincent P. Dole, M.D.
1992 Avram Goldstein, M.D.
1993 Floyd E. Bloom, M.D.
1994 Samuel B. Guze, M.D.
1995 Harold Kalant, M.D., Ph.D.
1996 Charles S. Lieber, M.D.
1997 Ting-Kai Li, M.D.
1998 Lee N. Robins, Ph.D.
1999 Mary Jeanne Kreek, M.D.
2000 Marc A. Schuckit, M.D.
2001 Charles P. O'Brien, M.D., Ph.D.
2002 Denise B. Kandel, Ph.D.
2004 A. Thomas McLellan, Ph.D.
2005 Herbert D. Kleber, M.D.
2006 Rudolf H. Moos, Ph.D.
2007 Lee Ann Kaskutas, Dr. P.H.